IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards were introduced in 2014 to recognize and reward achievements in contact lens education worldwide.

Sponsored by CooperVision, three prestigious awards are presented each year.

The title IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year is awarded to one individual from each of IACLE’s global regions:

  • Americas
  • Asia Pacific
  • Europe / Africa / Middle-East

2023 Awards

Thanks to the generous sponsorship from CooperVision, and co-sponsorship from the British Contact Lens Association (BCLA), three IACLE Contact Lens Educators of the Year Award winners will attend the BCLA’s Clinical Conference & Exhibition (9-11 June) and receive their awards during the Gala Dinner at the 4th IACLE World Congress in Birmingham, UK. 

The recipients of the 2023 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards will each receive:

  • A bursary of up to US$3,000 towards the cost of attending a major international meeting
  • Permission to use the title 2023 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year for their region
  • A certificate to mark the award, to be presented at the conference attended
  • Publicity relating to the award in IACLE communications and other media

About the Awards

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year winners will demonstrate a high level of achievement in contact lens education and in the area of contact lenses in general. Successful applicants will show the impact they have had on contact lens education in their institutions and how they inspire their students to become future contact lens practitioners.


  • These awards are open to any IACLE member who has been a paid-up member for at least 3 years
  • Members can either nominate themselves, or be nominated by another member or IACLE staff

Entry requirements

  • Entries must be submitted via the online application form (available in January)
  • The same form applies for both self-nominated or nominated applicants
  • Applicants must be available to attend a global meeting, providing COVID-19 restrictions allow
  • The decision of the IACLE Board of Directors will be final ands winners will be notified by IACLE Chief Executive Officer Bonnie Boshart.

Judging process

The IACLE Board of Directors will decide on all winners following input from our three Regional Directors.

How to apply

Applying for the 2023 awards is now closed.

If you have any questions or would like any additional information, please contact IACLE Chief Executive Officer Bonnie Boshart on b.boshart@iacle.org.

Congratulation to the 2023 award winners:

IACLE Americas Contact Lens Educator of the Year
Dr Myriam Teresa Mayorga
La Salle University, Bogotá, Colombia

‘Many thanks to IACLE for granting me this recognition – it represents a lot to me. IACLE has played a significant role in my professional and teaching performance. I will always remember with great gratitude Dr Brien Holden and Dr Gina Sorbara (rest in peace), Professor Desmond Fonn, Professor Debbie Sweeney, and Dr Percy Lazon, who profoundly influenced my vocation as a contact lens teacher. They left their legacy to those who continue the admirable work of IACLE, led by Professors Philip Morgan and Shehzad Naroo and Dr Etty Bitton. I sincerely thank Bonnie Boshart, Guillermo Carrillo, and Martín Giraldo for their permanent support. A very special mention to CooperVision and the BCLA for their contribution to this award. This distinction as the 2023 Contact Lens Educator of the Year for the Americas is dedicated to my family and all those committed to contact lens teaching. I invite all to keep exploring and improving as educators to benefit both our students and our patients.’

IACLE Europe, Africa and Middle East Contact Lens Educator of the Year
Dr May Bakkar

Jordan University of Science and Technology, Ar-Ramtha, Jordan

‘It is a great honor to be awarded the 2023 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Award. I am sincerely grateful to the IACLE team, who has nominated me for the award. On this occasion, I feel indebted to show gratitude to IACLE and its sponsors for their distinguished effort and support in providing us with outstanding teaching material, webinars, and conferences. All of these have assisted us in raising the standards of contact lens education in Jordan and the Middle East. I want to extend my gratitude to all IACLE Fellows and colleagues with whom I have worked and from whom I have learned enthusiasm, determination, and discipline in running the IACLE organization. On behalf of all contact lens educators, practitioners, and students in the Middle East, thank you IACLE.’

IACLE Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year
Isha Dave

Lotus College of Optometry, Mumbai, India

‘It’s an absolute honour and privilege to win this award. I have to dedicate it to Lotus College of Optometry, Mumbai, for the continuous support over the years, and I am very grateful to IACLE for providing the resources to take contact lens education to the next level.’

Thank you to the sponsor of the IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards

Find out more about the IACLE Travel Awards